Chief Electoral Officer Issues Notification for Bagheshwar By-Election

Chief Electoral Officer Issues Notification for Bagheshwar By-Election

The Chief Electoral Officer has released the notification for the Bagheshwar assembly by-election. This seat had been declared vacant after the demise of legislative assembly member and cabinet minister Chandan Ramdas. As per the notification issued by Chief Electoral Officer Dr. V. Shanmugam, the last date for filing nominations is August 17. Withdrawal of nominations can be done until August 21. The polling is scheduled for September 5, with counting taking place on September 8.

The election process will be completed before September 10. Voters can cast their votes using documents like Voter ID card, Aadhaar card, MNREGA job card, photo ID issued by a bank or post office, health insurance smart card from the Ministry of Labour, driving license, PAN card, passport, official identification issued by MPs or MLAs, and special disability ID card. Additionally, the model code of conduct has been implemented in the Bagheshwar district. A total of 188 polling stations have been set up for the election.

No Nominations on the First Day

The nomination process for the Bagheshwar assembly by-election has begun. However, on the first day, no candidate purchased a nomination form. Nominations can be filed until August 17, and names can be withdrawn by August 21. The polling is set to take place on September 5, with the results being announced by the afternoon of the same day. District Election Officer Anuradha Pal visited the RO office. Returning Officer Hargiri briefed the District Election Officer on the arrangements. Security arrangements have been tightened in the RO office. Given the nomination process, a significant number of police personnel have been deployed.

DM and SP Review Arrangements

District Election Officer and DM Anuradha Pal, along with SP Akshay Prahlad Kondekon, inspected the strong room set up in the degree college campus for the by-election on Thursday. They reviewed the training arrangements for the poll personnel.

They inspected the strong rooms constructed on the first and second floors of the Principal’s office and the prepared vegetation, animal science building, and lecture rooms for the counting. The District Election Officer directed to ensure all arrangements for training of personnel along with barricading. During this, CDIO RSI Tiwari, Returning Officer Hargiri, DSP S.S. Rana, Ankit Kandari, Assistant Returning Officer Titiksha Joshi, Deepika Arya, Assistant Election Officer R.S. Arya were present.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.