Asia Cup 2023 – All You need to know

Asia Cup 2023 – All You need to know

The 16th edition of the Asia Cup is set to kick off on Wednesday (August 30th). The tournament, hosted by Pakistan, will take place across two countries. After the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) decided not to send its players to Pakistan, significant changes were made to the tournament. Alongside matches in Pakistan, Sri Lanka will also host matches. Four matches will be played at Pakistan’s home ground, while nine matches will take place in Sri Lanka.

Learn everything about the tournament through these 10 questions:

When will Asia Cup 2023 be held?

Asia Cup will begin on August 30th and the final match will take place on September 17th.

On which grounds will Asia Cup matches be played?

Matches of the Asia Cup will be played at Multan Cricket Stadium and Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore, Pakistan. Additionally, matches will also be hosted at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Sri Lanka’s Kandy and R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

Which teams are participating in the tournament?

The Asia Cup 2023 will feature teams from India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and Nepal.

Which teams are in each group?

In Group A, there are India, Pakistan, and Nepal. In Group B, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan are present.

What is the format of the Asia Cup?

In the group stage of the Asia Cup, each team will play against every other team in their group. The top two teams from both groups will proceed to the Super-4 round, where they will compete against each other. From the Super-4 round, two teams will advance to the final.

When and against whom will India play its first match?

India’s first match will be against Pakistan on September 2nd. This match will be played at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium.

What is the schedule of the Asia Cup?

The schedule of the Asia Cup matches is as follows:

  • August 30: Pakistan vs Nepal in Multan
  • August 31: Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka in Kandy
  • September 2: Pakistan vs India in Kandy
  • September 3: Bangladesh vs Afghanistan in Lahore
  • September 4: India vs Nepal in Kandy
  • September 5: Afghanistan vs Sri Lanka in Lahore
  • Super-4 Round Matches
  • September 6: A1 vs B2 in Lahore
  • September 9: B1 vs B2 in Colombo
  • September 10: A1 vs A2 in Colombo
  • September 12: A2 vs B1 in Colombo
  • September 14: A1 vs B1 in Colombo
  • September 15: A2 vs B2 in Colombo
  • Final
  • September 17: Super4-1 vs 2 in Colombo

Where and how can matches be watched in India?

In India, Asia Cup matches will be broadcasted on the Star Sports network. Matches can be viewed on various Star Sports channels on television. Fans can also watch the live streaming of matches for free on the Disney Plus Hotstar app. Additionally, viewers with Free DTH can watch India’s matches on DD Sports.

Which players are included in each team’s squad?

India: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Hardik Pandya (Vice-Captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Ishan Kishan, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna. Backup: Sanju Samson.

Nepal: Rohit Paudel (Captain), Kushal Bhurtel, Asif Sheikh (Wicketkeeper), Bhim Sharki, Kushal Malla, Aarif Sheikh, Dipendra Singh Airee, Gulshan Jha, Sompal Kami, Karan KC, Sandeep Lamichhane, Lalit Rajbanshi, Pratish GC, Shyam Dhakal, Sandeep Jora, Kishor Mahato, Arjun Saud.

Bangladesh: Shakib Al Hasan (Captain), Liton Das, Tanzid Tamim, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Towhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Sheikh Mehedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Afif Hossain, Shamiem Hossain, Nasu Noor Ahmed, Shahriar Islam, Aabidot Hossain, Mohammad Naim.

Pakistan: Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam (Captain), Salman Ali Agha, Ifthikhar Ahmed, Tayyab Tahir, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Haris, Shadab Khan (Vice-Captain), Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Faheem Ashraf, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Waseem Jr., Nasim Shah, Shaheen Afridi.

Afghanistan: Hashmatullah Shahidi (Captain), Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Ikrar Ahmad, Ibrahim Zadran, Riyan Hasan, Rahmanullah Shah, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Karim Janat, Gulbadin Naib, Rashid Khan, Abdul Rahman, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Noor Ahmad, Mohammad Salim Safi, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Sharafuddin Ashraf (Reserve).

Sri Lanka: Yet to be announced.

Who has won the most Asia Cup titles?

India has won the Asia Cup title the most number of times, a total of seven times. Sri Lanka has won it six times, and Pakistan has won it twice. Bangladesh has reached the final three times but has not won the tournament.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.